Unforgettable Moments

Posted on Updated on

Illustration for 'Wives and Daughters', scene 4.
Illustration for ‘Wives and Daughters’, scene 4.

I picked up two of my daughters from the airport Sunday night; they were in Brazil for the week.

When they left, I was worried. “Remember the  zica virus is vacationing there as well. I don’t want to have to wait for two more years before I could hold another grand-child”

“Oh Ma, please! Just pray!” They answered me.
Of course, I was relieved to see them back home safe. But, during our ride back home, the older one had a moment of brilliance.
“You know what Ma?” She said.
“Thrilled me please!” I answered her.
“ I seriously thought about this, and this is my firm decision. I’m going to take a break from travelling, so my next trip will be all the way in December.”
I knew better than to encourage her insanity, so I just answered her hesitantly, “Oh, well, ok-OK dear.”
Mind you, that conversation took place on Sunday night, the 14th of FEBRUARY. And,
yesterday was the 16th of the same Month. I was in the room minding my business, pounding my brain, trying to figure a way so I could cheat my way through the Algebra class, which I must enroll for ASAP, when I heard.

“Ma, can I come in?”
“Sure, what’s?”
“Going to surprise my friend to.”
“From the thrilled look on her face, I knew she was planning to travel. So, I interrupted her IN PURPOSE.
“But, we are still in.”
“I know Ma, but she just gave birth, so I have to go see her and the baby.”
“Okkk-kayayay!” I said.

What can I say? She’s a byproduct of “Stand-by-your-husband.” I can’t really blame her.

Yes, when I was pregnant with her, my husband was still attending Northrop University. As an aeronautic engineer student, he would spend hours standing near the airport to observe the planes landing. I was the lamb dragged to the slaughter. From where we stood, we could feel the heat from the planes as they landed. And, by the time we left there, I thought I was deaf.
Honestly, I wouldn’t be surprised if one day she received a new revelation: “Ma, guess what?”
“Thrill me please.” I would answer her back.
“I found a surgeon who could implant two gigantic wings on my back, see? Right there. So I can fly like a plane.”
And my answer would be, “Ok honey, but remember to check the weather for storms, and don’t bother to bring an umbrella either, the wind will definitely blow it away.”

And, knowing her, she would probably answer me.
“Don’t worry Ma, I will.”
Yap! When we have Chill-Rain, it’s like signing a lifetime contract with Mr. Worry and Ms. Panic attack.
Later on that day, while my youngest one had just texted me a whole list of prayer requests pertaining to her long terms goals. On the other hands, on the same day, the third one from the same species finally decided to have a heart to heart conversation with me about “Her life, which was not turning out the way she had planned.”
Yes, THAT ONE graduated with her Bachelor from Florida State University over a year ago. Although, from the day she was born, she had that honorable kinder for justice and law, and she always knew she wanted to be a lawyer. But, somehow, between the graduation ceremonies, till now, she’s been searching for her soul while watching Briana’s whereabout, and Jhon Lennon playing the piano while she works as an assistant manager 1/2 a second per day.

beauty
“I have to find myself Ma, so I need a break.” I figured she needed some time. For she did have to endure a couple trauma while she was away for school.  Like spending a couple thousand dollars per month which she never told me her father was wiring her, SINCE HE DIDN’T KNOW SHE HAD A FULL SCHOLARSHIP.

Finally yesterday, the conversation went like this: “Ma, I know what I want to be now.”
I answered her “Wow,  let me guess?”

“Ma, I wasn’t the only one who got lost along the way. In fact, one of my friend spends his days smoking, because he can’t figure out what he wants to do with his life. He studied journalism, and mind you, we were both honors student from High school.”

So, I answered her, “And, I ‘m assuming when he left home for FSU, “himself” was not lost yet?”

“Of course not Ma. We were both brilliant children.”
“I see. “So why don’t you both  take a ride back to the university, and search through the lost and found box, and at last claim “yourselves back”
“Ma!” She yelled back.

I had to be a Mom. At least, that’s what she expected of me.
“I know. I trust you’ll find your way. You always did. I reassured her.
“Are you disappointed in me Ma?” She asked sadly.
“No.” I answered her. But, to cheer her up I said, “Hopeful, but not disappointed.”
She too had been mourning for our cats. I noticed she had lost so much weight, she looked like a stale herring fish. But I knew the only help I could offer her at this point was my sound wisdom. She had to discover her own journey. And, I’m confident she will.

woman
So for closure, I said to her:

“We must give ourselves time to heal from life tragedies. Yes, after a wound, our soul thirst for healing, the same when we longed for a cold glass of water after a long run. And this healing  is secured only on due time; therefore, we can’t rush its process.

Meanwhile, enjoy the silence. Listen to your inner soul. For, it will sing a melody, which only you can hear; only you can enjoy. Then you might discover how well, your fingers may still scribble some heartfelt poetry. Or, don’t be surprised if you gravitate toward the piano, where you once find your delight.

Yes, our God’s given talents were given to us for such a time as this. So we must embrace them.  For, whenever we’re   bruised, they will help us healed. If  confused, or  lost, they will be our guide to our journey back home.”
As tears rolled down her cheeks, I turned my head away, so she wouldn’t notice my teary eyes.
Moments like these are truly unforgettable. For, I just had to share my basket of roses with her, so she too might have enough to spread along the way.

beautiful

 

2 thoughts on “Unforgettable Moments

    tejaswinimalik said:
    February 17, 2016 at 12:44 pm

    When we have Chill-Rain, it’s like signing a lifetime contract with Mr. Worry and Ms. Panic attack. – Beautiful!
    Love this one. Great read, specially the one about the hard times spending money on a full scholarship. Almost fell of my chair laughing. :))

    Liked by 1 person

      laughtermedicineforthesoul responded:
      February 17, 2016 at 3:57 pm

      LOL So did I, after his father revealed to me how much money he was faithfully sending her. Thank you for reading. Have a great day!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

