THE TWO BRILLIANT MINDS

Posted on Updated on

I think every artist has a special bond with the Creator as well as Mother Nature. You know, all the little fairies and the angels from the creative kingdom. Yes, I believe they exist. And this fact, even from my early childhood. I use to talk to the butterfly, birds, even the plants; well, let me rephrase that, “I still talk to my plants.” And, whenever I bathe in a river, I always anticipated a visit from the Queen of the river.

The Queen of the river? Yes. They usually refer to them as the mermaid. I even thought I saw her a couple times. Although, I did wonder why her skin was so white, and she had long golden hair. So, of course, I was curious when I asked her:
“Hello River Queen, Aren’t you suppose to be black since you are ruling over a Caribbean river?”

But, she didn’t budge.
So I  continued my inquiry,“Well, you don’t have to be, black, black, black black, but at least, if you were my complexion I would  say ok.”

I was only a child, so that was the best way I could have explained what I was trying to convey to her. But the poor woman had no sense of humor, she just continued to brush her long golden hair, with not even a glimpse.

“Are you deaf or something?” I asked her. She finally smiled.
So I gathered she was welcoming my conversation, but as soon as she realized I was walking toward her, she plunged back in the river.

Those being are genius intuitively. She probably thought I was going to kidnap her with the intent to steal her gold brush. Why not? Of course, I would. You see? I could have been the first millionaire child in Haiti.

As you know, the old folks never believe a child story. Finally, when I told my auntie “The Queen of the river was white.” Do you know what she answered me?

“Why would the Queen of our river be white, when we live in the Caribbean?”

So I answered her back, “I don’t know auntie, but I sure will find out.”

Of course, all my quests went unanswered. Even the priest couldn’t give me a straight answer. So on my way to church one day, I decided to enquire from the gigantic ugly fish from the large ground Aquarium, which was located in the center of the town. I had befriended all the multicolored fish, even gave each one a pretty name. But that large fish was so hideous, I didn’t quite know how to call it. Since it was shaped like a red snapper, I called it.

“Hey Fat Wanna Be Snapper, do you have a queen ruling over you?”

The fat fish turned around annoyed, before it answered me, “What do you think? I’m she!”
In shock, I replied back, “What? Are you a she? But you look so masculine. What’s your real name anyway?”
“My name is Queen Snapper; I’m originally from the U.S.”
‘You are a red snapper fish, but you look like… I don’t even know what to call you.”

“Exactly!” She answered me back with a nasty attitude. “I only agreed to come live down here after they granted my request to change my physique to this hideous body.”

“But, why would you rather look like this, than a? I mean, red snappers are so gorgeous, and look at.”
“Do you mind?” He interrupted me. “I’m still talking here!”
“Wow! You are rude too.” I whispered.
But he heard me anyway. “No, I’m not. I’m a queen, therefore, everyone is subject to ME. And yes, I chose this ugly vessel because this is the only way I could escape from you merciless freak who live in this Island. “You people think “Red snapper and yellow tails are the only tasty fish in the ocean.”

“Wow! You sure are a smart fish.”
“Of course, I’m. Am I not a leader?”

“Come on wanna Be Red Snapper, from what I heard, leaders are not necessarily.”

She bluntly cut me off again, “Who cares what you heard, I said, I was chosen because of my brilliance, that’s good enough.”

“Ok then, if you are so brilliant, can you tell me why the Queen of the lake behind my gramma’s house is?”

“Don’t tell me, you’re wondering why she’s white, and she’s ruling over a?”

“Exactly! We are in the.”

“Caribbean?” He continued, “Don’t tease me, please! His tone was as if he was the most miserable fish living in the aquatic world.

After he sunk his body in the water for a deep breath, he said.
“What can I say?” He said. ” We were both commissioned to come down here together. I must say, the charming black woman is brilliant. She spent years bleaching her skin and growing her hair with herbs essence. So whenever she’s seen by you folks, they would call her a Goddess. Just so she can reassure her protection from you savage!”

“Wow! Now, that’s a brilliant mind!” I said.
But the fat Queen answered: “Excuse! Hello! Correction, “That’s two brilliant minds!”

Hahahah! I hope you didn’t think ths was a true story? Well, let me rephrase that. This story is partially true. And yes, that’s for you to discern the friction from the facts. So enjoy!

Meanwhile, check out my final work with the blue eye girl/woman painting below. I completely gave her a new facial.

 

 

100_5086

 

 

3 thoughts on “THE TWO BRILLIANT MINDS

    Karmughil Vannan said:
    January 30, 2016 at 4:27 am

    Title of the post suits exactly for the story and the way the story ends with is absolutely beautiful. And by the way, the

    Like

Leave a Reply

