The (Birth)day Lessons

Posted on

I love this post . Finally someone who speaks my language on child birth.

Mourning Dove Motherhood

Today my daughter turns three! I have to admit, I’ve been a bit nostalgic.

Yesterday I wrote about howpregnancy taught me skills that have served me as a parent.Today I thought I’d write the same about mydaughter’s birth.

Not the BIRTH STORY story. That would take a novel. My daughter’s birthwas the equivalent of baptism by fire. Abig ol’ metaphorfor the wild ride to come. At times unexpected and intense, always driven by a curious and determined child, and scattered with tiny miracles.

For now I thought I’d share a few take-aways* that three years later still stand out.

Birth Lesson One: Listen to Your Gut

At 8pm on the night before my daughter was born I could be found dashing around a nearly-empty Target store in Des Moines, Iowa. I waslike a mad woman, determined to pickup the finalremainingodds and ends on my baby list. Loaded with infant…

View original post 509 more words

Leave a Reply

