My Hideous Boots

Posted on Updated on

100_5039

Today I’m not happy. I received bad news for one of my daughters. Somewhat a personal matter, which I can’t really share.
I figure, the best way I can deal with this stress is to laugh my heart out. So I thought I would share another painting of mine. By mere coincidence I started painting it yesterday, before I received the news.

100_5036
Yes, that little girl is me. And yes, I was wearing my boots on the wrong feet. No big deal! I was six and still getting a whooping for wearing them that way. I just couldn’t understand why my mother was so blind. Because, I always thought to myself, “What’s wrong with her? The shoes are fine!”
Of course I hated those boots, but I had to wear them everywhere I went. Why? Because I was bow legged. LOL
But, keep in mind, wearing those hideous boots were the least of my problem. If you noticed, I’m actually wearing a couture dress in my favorite color. Yes, that hair style was typical back then; our hair were garnished with enough barrettes, if we wanted to, we could have opened an accessory store.

Furthermore, after they tortured us with that puffy hair style, don’t forget the jewelry, the lace sock, and the ruffle pantie. (Well, I didn’t mind the ruffles since it made my butt look bigger.) Yes, it was like a love affair to remember, for both, church and picture day.

“Sit, and don’t move.” That was what was expected of me, after I was decorated like a Christmas tree. But, I wasn’t about to wait till they turn on the lights, for me to start sparkling. I was a busy buddy. Although, that day I did behave/ Of course, right before l heard the mango calling my name. My grandmother had brought a whole basket from the Countryside. And that one, was set aside just for me. You can guess the end of the story.

If you are wondering if I’m sitting on a vase? The answer is yes. I had to pi, what did you expect me to do? I wasn’t crazy enough to run in the bathroom where my mother was getting ready.

100_5035Lastly, you might be asking yourself “How did I managed to escape from that big one?”
Thank God, my Godmother showed up just on time. My face, my dress, even my shoes were sabotage by the mango. So she kidnapped me. My Mom didn’t see me until the following week.
What? Cinderella wasn’t the only one who had a fairy God-Mother!100_5038

2 thoughts on “My Hideous Boots

    lifeconfusions said:
    January 17, 2016 at 4:58 am

    This is adorable !! Such a lovely painting encasing memories for you! 🙂
    I hope you feel better and whatever the new was- you will get through it. Much love and many hugs ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

