Walking To Dodo’s Plantation, Part II – Encounter With The Tour Guide

Posted on

laughtermedicineforthesoul

Donkey picture

Yes. You heard it right. Foufoune was my childhood nickname, and it’s pronounced as “Foofoone!”

Would you like to know what it stands for in the Creole language? Well! I will tell you anyway. It is the private part of a baby girl! Yes, till this day, my mother’s family still calls me Foufoune, a baby’s vigina! So whenever my girls ask me: “Mom, what’s that nickname they just called you?”

“Oh! It stands for “procreate! “I was so beautiful as a young girl, my grandmother gave me that name. Then she would say: “I Hope you have children as beautiful as you are!” Don’t ask me what happened to you girls.”

So now that you have the Haïtian Country folk’s definition of direction, (discussed on part I of this story) let me share with you an actual journey to my grand-mother’s house. The most memorable one, I recalled I…

View original post 2,092 more words

One thought on “Walking To Dodo’s Plantation, Part II – Encounter With The Tour Guide

    The Mount said:
    November 21, 2015 at 11:15 am

    Thank you for sharing this. It is a wonderful reminiscent piece. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

