Home Sweet Home!

Posted on Updated on

beautiful treebeautiful view river
Snow white glittering flakes, fell on my face.
I’m surrounded in white. The trees layered in ice, like a world of clear crystal.
Is this heaven? But, as the cold breeze softly blushed my face; I was forced to take a deep breath.
Mmm! Tasted like a glass of pure, crystal clear water, from the spring behind my Gando’s plantation.
“Nature’s at its best.” I thought. A Breathtaking site indeed. What a wonderful feeling, could it linger forever?

Bird in the snow
But, twelve hours later, when I stepped out from the plane. The smoggy hot air nearly suffocated me, with a slap, right on my face.
“Dawn it! “Why the hell did I come back here for?”
However, later on, when I walked in the living room, a familiar face welcomed me home, while a sweet kiss landed on my cheek.
“Hi Tatie!” My niece said with a smile. “Be careful, the floor is wet- how was your trip?”

A few steps away, I spotted my childhood hero. She was standing in front of the kitchen counter slicing her favorite veggies. The aroma from the grilled steak, suddenly stirred up my culinary sense.
“Miss you Sis!” I told her. “Is this for dinner, or work?”
As she turned her cheek toward me, her smile reciprocates. “Did you have fun?”
“Yes, but I.”
To my surprise, before I could finish my sentence, I saw  two tiny little legs,  running toward me. He held his arms open wide, as he yelled: “TATiiiiiiiiiiiiiieeeeee!”
It was my niece son. My three year old grand-nephew. He tightly held my legs for a few seconds, with his head bent backward, his lips pointed upward, so he could give me a tender kiss.”
I had missed the little charmer. But now I see, the feeling was mutual. Picture for the funeral
As I sit down among my therapeutic bunch for dinner, I silently gazed at my three heroes. Contentment filled my heart, before I whispered:

“Now I know why home is called “Home, Sweet Home!”

Leave a Reply

