White Folks Hobby

Posted on Updated on

So we had planned to go to Beaver Creek this morning. Although I didn’t know what the hell we were going there anyway, but  my nephew”s plead finally convicted me to join the team.

“You are not coming with us Tatie?” He asked.  Of course, I Am my love.”

Besides,  is there anything I wouldn’t do for him?

This has been the case since he was a young boy. He knew he had special favor with me . My girlfriend had two boys. While the older one was my special cake, on the other hands,   the younger one was my “icing” on the cake. He always occupied a special spot in my heart. For the simplex fact, he mastered thre art of humor.  And, till this day, he has not changed.

So we finally arrived  to Beaver Creek,  it was deadly gorgeous there. A beautiful woman, in her mid forties welcomed us. Then as she smiled,  she said, “Oh dear, be very careful with those boots ok.”

“Why?” I answered  puzzled.

“Because they are not suitable for skii”

“For what?” I’m not here to skiiing,.I’m black, can’t you tell?”

After she laughed her heart out, she said:  “I hate to be the carrier of bad news, but if you intend to climb those hills, you will have to skii one way or another.”

It only took me a few minutes to discover just. how wise the woman was. When the snow which  covered my knee high boot,  caused my fall. My body print was engraved on the ground,  an helicopter could easily spot it miles away Afterwards, as if Mother Nature was craving for a good laugh,  my butt was involuntarily  sliding down the hill, as if we had a binding agreement. The  ground  that embraced my rolled up body, which was curved like a ball, while being carried by an invisible  escalator. without my consent.

THANK GOD, my friends where too busy with their own struggle,  so they completely missed out on my tragedy    when they failed to see me skiing the Haitian style.

I left there with one thought in mind. “God definitely DID NOT creates skiiing for black folks.

To confirm my theory, while I was situ glued on the snow filled hills,  I tried to recalled if I would ever seen us colored folks  skiing,  portrayed. in any movies, which I had seen. Or, perhaps I have heard any reference of such during our conversion in the past.. Like” We plan to go skiing this weekend, would you care to join us?”  But, NOTHING came to mind. Nevereever ever!!!

So I rest my case.

So now I see why most of our colored folks choose to play soccer, basketball. ..

“Why?” One may wonder.  Because we don’t like to waste our money on broken bones. So, instead of the ground slamming us, it would. be the other way around.  Besides,  we are smart enough to conclude the following fact.  “During our whole history,  we’ve always been a magnet to trouble,  so why the hell should we go pay for some more?”

Additionalily, according  to my equation  I can prove my theory:

Take a look below:

Snow – White…(White Folks)

Ground/Earth. ..(Colored Folks)

So You SEE!

At last, when were  finally leaving,  the shuttle driver asked me,”How did you enjoy skiiing?

I answered,  “I personally did not. However, my butt certainly enjoyed it. So much so,  I just placed a ransom note in your lobby for a missing  butt.”

4 thoughts on “White Folks Hobby

    Kevin said:
    November 13, 2015 at 4:28 am

    Skiing scares me to death. Always has and always will. My hat’s off to you for your bravery. 🎩👏

    Like

    Kevin said:
    November 13, 2015 at 11:13 am

    Well at least you survived to tell a great story.

    Like

      laughtermedicineforthesoul responded:
      November 13, 2015 at 6:51 pm

      LOL, still revising it. My goodness, I’m as blind as a bat. Lol
      Thank you. for your comments.

      Like

Leave a Reply

