“Be Careful! I speak Murong- Chinese-Tay-Nung-Hmông!”

Posted on Updated on

I went to get my eyebrows done today. But, during the whole time, all the ladies were speaking their native language. The only English word I heard, was when she asked me “Just eyebrows?”
“Yes.” I answered her with a smile.
But, she was already saying “Chunyoungching,” to her two partners.
I gathered they must have been talking about someone by the name of “Chung.” Because the conversation went somewhat like this:
One lady said: “Chungching-chiiiiiiiing!”
My helper answered “Dongdonngdondond H’r! Chungchinggg-rrrrrr!”
The younger one was eating from a bowl. As she got up, she said, “Honnnng-Hing-hin-ghing rrrrrrrrrrrr-Chunghing!”
I don’t know how she had managed to say all of that, with her mouth full. But, she did. NO, I’m not lying.
Ok. So I’m lying. The truth is, she didn’t exactly uttered those words, but what I heard sounded just like them.
Of course I felt compelled to participate. So, that’s when I said “Hongggg-HING-rrrrr!!!”
The three ladies remained silent for a few seconds as they starred at each other. Then I heard:
“Ohmyguy-youthink we’re fo-rom China! We are fo-rom Viet-Naame. Not China!”
Although I understood what she meant, I thought I would tease her.  “You’re from Viet-Naame? I heard of Vietnam, but where is “Viet-Naame?”
“Naaaa! We fo-rom whereyoujustsid! “Viet-Naame!” The older one answered.
I responded back, “Ididnotsid “Viet-Naame.” I sid, “Vietnam!”
While shaking her head, she said:“Yah-yah! There-there! Youuu-Justsidit!”
Finally the younger lady turned around, after a glimpse, while laughing she said, “Hayhoyoooow-YING-hoiyyy!” To the other two ladies.
Without a doubt, I knew she had just said something about me. So, to scare her off, I slowly uttered the following sentence: “I – would – be – careful if I were you. I speak Murong- Chinese-Tay-Nung-Hmông and French!”
What they heard almost caused them to stop breathing. They yelled together: “Hunnnngg! YOU DO?”
“Ah-ha! So you ladies WERE talking about ME-weren’t you?”
After they all laughed, the older woman told me, “Hunnnngg, you so fon-ny! You kom back again, we give you diss-Kont. “You Kom back, Ok! Wa-yourname?”
I answered, “My name is Nad…”
“Wa? Hunnngg – yournameis-wa?”
“No. My name is not “Wa.”
After she laughed her heart out, she said again, “You so fon-ny!”
“Really?” I answered her. “I’ve been told the contrary.”
“Hong?” She said with a serious look.
“Never mind.” I answered her. “I will be back in a couple weeks. But next time, can I pay with my jar of pennies?”
“Pen – hunnngg! Letseee!” She turned to confirm with the other lady while speaking Vietnamese.
“Hong-Phong-Honnnng?”
The middle aged lady looking frightening started to walk toward me. “Waaaaaaa? Pennies? How much?” She asked me.
I answered, her “About if I bring you ladies a five gallon jar full of pennies!”
“FYYY GALLON? Hooooooong!”
“Got you!” I said. While I laughed my heart out.
“Hunnngg – you so fon-ny!!! “See you net-time, ok!
“What? You want to set the time?” I answered her.
“Nonnn! “I said “Net –time. Net. Net. Not appoint-mend!”
While I walked out, I just had to say: “No appointment? Then, let’s forget about the net. I will just bring the fish.”
“Hunnngg – You so fon-ny!”

I honestly had  one of the best time of my life! Therefore I know I will definitely go back.

7 thoughts on ““Be Careful! I speak Murong- Chinese-Tay-Nung-Hmông!”

    A.B Mood said:
    October 23, 2015 at 9:21 am

    It really amazes me when I think that how weird I must sound to foreigners. I mean Urdu can also be bit of a mouthful sometimes. When I was a litttlle teeny weeny kid, when I heard English I was just as confused as you were when listening to Chinese (or Mandarin, or whatever) 😀 Languages are amazing.. They only sound weird until to learn them 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      laughtermedicineforthesoul responded:
      October 24, 2015 at 2:26 am

      I fully agree with you. My daughter took a few semesters of Mandarin; amazing. But listening to them I didn’t think it was weird, rather interesting. I always try to mimic their sound, since I can’t understand one word.
      Thank you for your comment.

      Liked by 1 person

        A.B Mood said:
        October 26, 2015 at 8:51 am

        I always wished I could speak a third language, either Spanish or Mandarin. Sigh, now it’s too late 😦

        Like

        laughtermedicineforthesoul responded:
        October 27, 2015 at 2:10 am

        It’s never too late. I’m now trying to learn Spanish…

        Liked by 1 person

        A.B Mood said:
        October 30, 2015 at 1:58 pm

        Woah that’s awesome! ❤

        Like

    lifeconfusions said:
    October 24, 2015 at 11:21 am

    This was so entertaining to read ! What a funny experience 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

