Sometimes A Little Rhum And Spice Are Necessary!

Posted on Updated on

family encestors

Two of my siblings are on their way to visit Papy, (our Father) since he hasn’t been well. The fact is, while I’m looking forward to seeing them,  I doubt their feeling are reciprocal toward me.

Yap, you heard me right! Last I heard, I’m considered like an atheist, and a member of Babylon the great, and lastly one of Satan’s offspring.

Unfortunately for me, according to the Jehovah’s Witness teaching, my soul is now doomed for the pending destruction, with all the other unbelievers.

Why? After I was suffocated with “THEIR VERSION OF THE TRUTH,” I had enough sense to say “Hell no!” Thankfully, afterward I took off running at the speed of lightning when I decided no religious organization will further determine my eternal destination. And because of this fact, my siblings were provided with an allergic prescription, just for our future encounters.

The last time my” Holy” siblings and I had a loving conversation was back in 1988, prior to the three elders visit, from the Jehovah Witness organization. I had just walked in from a prayer meeting when I saw them walking toward my front door. They held a manila folder, which apparently kept a record of my spiritual encounter during my insane years with their organization.

“We’ve been informed that you are currently visiting other denominations, the churches from Babylon the great, is it true?”

“Yes, your honor it is!”

“Do you understand this action on your part is ground for reproof? So do you intend to stop this venture?”

“No Sir. In fact “My soul is rejoicing in the Lord, and as long as they have not asked me to sacrifice my soul to Satan, or to join your future master in Hell, I see no reason to stop joining their prayer group.”

“In this case, you must renounce your title as a “Jehovah’s Witness.”

“My pleasure your honor!”

“You must write a letter with the following… request, so we in turn will submit it to our headquarter in New York.”

“My pleasure Sir!”

My Letter:

What I was instructed to write: “As of today, I no longer wish to be part of Jehovah’s organization.”

What I wrote:  “It has come to my understanding, for the past four years, I have been part of Satan’s organization here on earth. So today I’m boldly renouncing my association with the Jehovah Witness organization. Instead, I’m joining the true army of the Living God Almighty, Creator of Heaven and earth!” Yes, I still  hold to the fact that Jesus Christ died for my sin, and yes He is my Lord and Savior. Furthermore, I believe in the baptism and the gifts of the Holy Spirit, contrary to the teachings of your organization. I believe in the fervent prayers of the body of Christ, and those I once called “The unbelievers,”  are now my beloved brothers and sisters in Christ.”

After the elders read my letter, the expression on their face was by far one of the most memorable event of my life.

As they stood up together, they pointed their hands toward me, to recite what they believed to be their final decree upon my spiritual walk:

They said:  “Whatsoever we bind on earth, shall be bound in heaven, and whatsoe…”

Unfortunately for them, all along I was negotiating with the following thoughts:

  1. Remember even Jesus had tantrum?
  2. So you think you only inherited your civilized paternal side…?
  3. Grandma Do, would season this nonsense with some lemon and hot pepper for a feast, and top it with some Rhum!
  4. Finally I said: “ I know you’ve asked us to die in the flesh, but I’m not there yet, so please forgive me.”

Right at this point, I thought I heard my Grandma Idovia’s voice.                          hot pepper

“Child, only God is your judge! So, get those ignorant punk out of your house!”

“YOU PUNK – GET OUT- OF- MY – HOUSE!!!”  I yelled.

I still recalled how my sister answered me that day:

“I have nothing in common with an unbeliever! Don’t bother to call our brother either!” I was honestly wounded by that. We grew up together, and I loved her very much. But,  her arrogance prompted me to  answer her!

“Ok. If you ever decide to knock on heaven’s door, I will make sure I drag the latter under your feet, so you can fall back on earth, where your freaking religion claim you’ll be spending eternity!

As unbelievable as it may sound, the Jehovah’s Witness teachings were not the only poison which almost summoned me to the hospice department. Now after years of exposure with other denomination, I’ve learned to set my own religious standard. I will boldly worship with other Christ believers, while I’m there, I will dance and praise God as if it was my last day breathing. But I hold firm this belief, my spiritual walk will remain a personal journey between me and my Lord, and no one will ever have the chance to deter me again.

Meanwhile, I intend  to love genuinely, forgive abundantly, while I embrace the wisdom life has to offer. And, whenever I damn please, I will feast with a glass of red wine and laugh my heart to healing.

And while I dance my traditional Kompa, to the beat of the drums from my homeland; if anyone dare to question why?  I will answer:

“Frankly my dear, I don’t give a damn!”

23 thoughts on “Sometimes A Little Rhum And Spice Are Necessary!

    sonniq said:
    August 15, 2015 at 10:58 pm

    LMAO That settled some questions I’ve had. You, my father’s brother and wife and kids lived one block from us whileI was growing up and they ignored us. Never invited us to family gatherings. But on Xmas both sides of the family always meet for breakfast at my grandmother’s house where they always welcomed and took every present she had for them but never once reciprocated You see, they were JW and we were but lowly Lutherans. One day there was a terrible hurricane and water from the nearby river rose. Their house was flooded as was my grandmother’s house- clear up to the 2nd floor – a bunch of JW goes running to my uncle’s house to help him clean up ( and I mean a bunch) My grandmother lived across the street and they didn’t even tell one of those wonderful JW’s to go help his mother. Well, after all she want a JW. She was only his mother. Eventually she got old and Alzeimers set in. So they took over her finances and used her money to pay their bills. She died and they swooped in and took everything she owned and had a Yardsale immediately without telling anyone. But the wife was really nice to me. She was gracious. She said, “I’m sure you would like something to remember your grandmother,” and handed me a fucking tablecloth! With a strain! This was 28 years ago and I’ve never spoken to that side of the family again. After bein raised in the church and watching the hypocrites who used church as a social event and never even apply the teachings to their life (They could get all sings forgiven every week) I knew there was no actually reality to it for me. After searching for answers to questions of what makes people the way they are and why they do the things they do, I joined the SGI. The soka Gakkai – a lay Buddhist organization originally from Japan. So did my mother – 28 years ago. So, of course, my holier than thou sisters wouldn’t care if I dropped dead – really – or at least leave town. We don’t speak. At all. I mentioned the dying part because I almost died and didn’t even get one get well card ( or a phone call to see if I lived through surgery) But they are such good self-professed Christians. Wow it makes me want to be one so I can be judgemental, too.

    okay- got that off my chest. And you are right. It is, and should be, a personal journey. We are born alone and die alone. No one has the right to say, “I am right and you are wrong.” There is more than one path to happiness. Treat people the way you want to be treated. Why? Because it bis the way you’ll be treated. That is the law of cause and effect – or you reap what you sow – depending on which religion. ( I can’t proofread this so I hope spell check didn’t type anything stupid!)

    Liked by 1 person

      laughtermedicineforthesoul responded:
      August 17, 2015 at 5:48 am

      Oh my God! I could not sleep and decided to read my blog and noticed your messages. I’m heartbroken by your story. Indeed, you’ve described the JW alright They will receive, but will not reciprocate, unless they can spot you are a future victim. As for the Christian walk, how sad? Church has become a commericial venture. It behoves those of us who still wish to upheld the shining light to be very wise. The conclusion of this matter? How Solomon would say it, is exactly what you’ve summed up: To love unconditionally, treat others as you would like to be treated. Please do remember what Jesus said: “No everyone who calls me Lord… One day although they will claim they knew the Lord, but he will reply “I never knew you!” Lastly this is my belief: “Whether I stand or fall is noe of your is none of your freakg business! Let my Lord Judge me, for Him alone died for me!!! lol Thnak you so much for sharing your story with me. The fact is, you were the jewrl, the precious stone, shining too bright for them to tolorarate, , although wou were among them, but you were never one of them, for light always outshine darkness! This is my daily comfort, my motivation to live on regardless! Bu the way, I cant check cpelling eitheer, can’t even see what I’m writing, so sorry for any… lol

      Like

        sonniq said:
        August 17, 2015 at 5:11 pm

        I think if you go way back there has been a desire by all people to understand life What does it mean? Why are we here? What happens when we die? There are so many similarities and many of the same teachings. We have to remember they were all taught to us by human beings – their interpretations of what they think is the truth. With each teaching a little more is added or changed. As teachings spread to other countries it changed again depending on the culture. Add to it that the people’s capacity to understand grew as they learned to read and write and understanding of the Earth and other scientific knowledge explained things that people thought had to be the working of the gods – like the religion of the Vikings. The absolutely believed without a shred of doubt that what they believed was true, too. So it showed that having faith in something doesn’t make it true – you only think it’s true. You want it to be true. You don’t want to think you spent your life believing in something not there And then, if you changed, what would your friends and family say? So the bottom line is proof. Proof isn’t found in what you read You can’t say it’s proof because the Bible says so. The proof in what you believe can only be found in your daily life. How has it enabled you to change something in your life that has caused you unhappiness How did what you learn affect your life? The problem lies in “why” people believe in something. For some Christians, they believe because they want to go to heaven.It is the afterlife they fear or desire. The faith is not used to change their life as they live it. They don’t think of the effect of the causes they make. Their “happiness” comes from worshiping God, not from challenging their unhappiness by using the teachings to change an aspect of themselves that holds them back. They don’t work on themselves. They continue to react the same way their nature dictates because it’s just they way they are. Christianity is an easy religion to practice. You don’t have to change. When you screw up all you have to do is ask for forgiveness and everything is hunky dory. All you have to do is “believe” and praise God and say amen a lot on facebook pages so everyone can see you are a devout Christian. But what part of you have you honestly changed? What did you turn around? Ask yourself, why do you believe? Except for heaven what do you expect to get out of it? What is the purpose? What are you afraid well happen if you stop believing?

        There is much more I’d like to say, especially about the splintering of religions Even Buddhism splintered countless times. All Buddhism is not the same just like all Christian religions are not the same. Where is the truth? I have done a lot of study on this But people get emotional and defensive about what they think their truth is and close themselves off from hearing anything that contradicts their beliefs. I should probably put it in a post. There are several I’ve written. one is “Why Do You Believe What You Believe?”

        My purpose in writing these confrontational posts is to get people to think of their own “why”. Tell me yours.

        It is common in Christianity to think the judging of you -your actions etc is outside yourself. An entity you have no control over will judge you and deem you worthy – or not. Sorry, I think not. Think about that. That is as real as the God of Thunder. Open up your thinking. Your are believing what you were told not what you know to be true But when you are told something over and over it becomes truth to you. Are you willing to explore? Put your beliefs under the microscope?

        Liked by 1 person

        laughtermedicineforthesoul responded:
        August 17, 2015 at 8:27 pm

        I’am open minded, and I think that’s why to do my own research. I think you should write about these facts on your blog. Interesting concepts.
        Thank you so much for your feedback.

        Like

      laughtermedicineforthesoul responded:
      August 17, 2015 at 6:56 am

      Ok. Don’t laugh. I’m just realising I could have responded to your comment on thi sspot on my blog where it clearly indicates to “Leave a Reply!” OMG! I’m so slow. All along, I’ve struggled to write from that little box on the right, where it shows how many other bloggers actually liked my post. So now that I’m reading what I originally responded, I can’t stop laughing. Please excuse all my errors. lol I don’t want to re-write everything, but anything you don’t understand please feel free to enquire. Thanks again for sharing your message.
      However, let me leave you with the following thought.
      One day when those hypocrites will tell Jesus “I preach, teach, healed, in your name, He will answer them “Get away from me, for I never knew you!” I really wish he would answer instead: “Get the “F” away from me you freaking moron!” But I know He won’t. So, I will have to do the job for him, since i’m hoping I will be standin next to him then.

      Like

    sonniq said:
    August 15, 2015 at 11:05 pm

    Only a few spell check bloopers. I think you can figure it out!

    Liked by 1 person

      laughtermedicineforthesoul responded:
      August 17, 2015 at 5:51 am

      I did! Hope you can read mine as well! Thanks again for taking the time to share your story with me.

      Liked by 1 person

        sonniq said:
        August 18, 2015 at 3:01 pm

        Sometimes I look back on what I wrote seeing it from the reader’s viewpoint and know they must think I’m a crazy lady. well actually I am but no one needs to know that!

        Like

        laughtermedicineforthesoul responded:
        August 19, 2015 at 6:49 pm

        Not from my viewpoint! lol

        Like

    C. J. Hartwell said:
    August 16, 2015 at 12:47 am

    I’ve had Witnesses come to my door, but to be honest, I know very little about them. I was talking to a good friend not that long ago and she was telling me about her upbringing in a very, very conservative fundamentalist church, and how long it took her to recover from it. We never think of that, do we? That just as a child can be abused physically or emotionally, they can be abused spiritually too?

    Liked by 1 person

      laughtermedicineforthesoul responded:
      August 16, 2015 at 3:41 am

      Yes indeed! The story of my life.Thank you for your coment.

      Like

      sonniq said:
      August 20, 2015 at 7:45 pm

      I actually wrote a post to you last night and when I tried to send it it disappeared! When I work on my Nook, if a post gets too long sometimes it gets crazy. I think many times a religion can get abusive. Think of the Amish – kids have to chose. If they don’t want the Amish life, which is very restrictive, yet very family oriented, they get shunned by their family and they will never talk to them again. As a teenager having to face losing your family what would you do. If you chose to leave after you have a child, you have to leave it behind, too. There is something wrong when a religion has to force you to stay or lose everything. With Jehovah Witnesses, as teens you have to go door to door preaching. No one wants them knocking at their door. But they are taught you won’t get to be one of the 100,00 people, ( although I heard recently they increased the number) unless you are actually “witnessing” at the time it happens. There is something wrong with that. So many different sects wrap guilt into their teachings. When I child hears in church they are going to hell if they are bad, it scares them. My mother has told me stories of the fire and brimstone preacher they had when she was a kid. Or no dancing or having to wear a dress or as a woman you should always submit to your husband and he calls all the shots. There are so many religions that have so many rules to follow that having nothing to do with changing the things that make you unhappy.

      Like

        C. J. Hartwell said:
        August 20, 2015 at 8:25 pm

        You know how people can enjoy white privilege without realizing it? Well, I was spiritually privileged and I never knew it until recently. I was raised in a family that attended church faithfully — even on vacations! — and yet we were encouraged to ask questions and discuss things. My dad especially, loved it when we asked questions because it showed we were thinking about it. And I remember one of our pastors saying that someone who never doubted was someone who never used their brain.
        I’m certain it was that sort of philosophy that led me to the deep faith I have now.

        Liked by 1 person

        laughtermedicineforthesoul responded:
        August 20, 2015 at 8:41 pm

        Wow! That is a great blessing. I’m now quoting God on His promise to “Train a child… when they get older they should not depart from the truth.” I raise my girls in the Church, but now they hardly attend … Although I know they still believe in the Lord, but I think they are questioning​ why our family have been through so many traumas…

        Like

        sonniq said:
        August 21, 2015 at 4:35 am

        I would never say I am right and you are wrong. If you are happy and it is there when you need it that is good. There is more than one path to happiness. Some people say they have a faith yet they are so unhappy. It’s important to respect each others faith. Many teachings in Buddhism are also found in Christianity. But we believe in the eternity of life. The cycle of life, not that we die and go to cities paved with gold. I believe in karma. It used to be in the Bible, too, but was removed along with other chapters. You believe in heaven so you must believe in hell. But hell isn’t mentioned even one time in the Bible. Why do you think this is so?

        Liked by 1 person

        sonniq said:
        August 21, 2015 at 4:48 am

        Why did you compare it to white privilege? I had all the same spiritual privileges as you in my home , but even my mother, when she learned about Buddhism, left the church because it answered all the questions that weren’t answered without having to suspend common sense. Nothing of a fantastic nature. But diversity makes people interesting. I sincerely hope you have a great life!

        Like

        laughtermedicineforthesoul responded:
        August 22, 2015 at 4:06 pm

        Does the Buddhism faith has any reference with the Fat Guy I see sitting in the Chinese restaurant? I’m not familiar with it. I will do some research. But, I don’t mean to offend you, because I’m sure If God choses to give him such honor as one of the great prophet, that’s great. But, I’m sure although He is respected for his teaching/wisdom, his remains is still among us human. Contrary to what I may say for the Lord Jesus Christ.

        Like

        sonniq said:
        August 22, 2015 at 4:23 pm

        Lol. No offense taken. There are multiple Buddhists sects just like Christianity. There is a long answer to your question that would explain ( maybe I’ll do a post on it ) but the short answer is – Nichiren Buddhism has no fat happy buddhas. Those sects that do worship the man, like worshiping a God, like the God itself has the power. What you could say we worship – what we strive to understand is what he taught – the law of cause and effect. This is what I mean when I say we don’t look outside ourselves for something else to make us happy our fix our problems. We look inward for that wisdom. The Buddha is no more alive than Jesus, so we don’t pay TO the Buddha. It is the teachings that matter. But when you have learned nothing else other than Christianity it’s only normal you would do what you learned – but it doesn’t mean it is effective.

        Liked by 1 person

        laughtermedicineforthesoul responded:
        August 22, 2015 at 9:44 pm

        Ok, sound sane. I will read some more to familiarize… Thanks!

        Liked by 1 person

        sonniq said:
        August 23, 2015 at 1:12 am

        Very good!

        Like

        laughtermedicineforthesoul responded:
        August 28, 2015 at 6:53 pm

        Hi Sonniq, I have nominated you for the “Sisterhood World Blogger award” Follow the link below.
        https://laughtermedicineforthesoul.wordpress.com/2015/08/28/401/

        Like

        laughtermedicineforthesoul responded:
        August 20, 2015 at 8:30 pm

        I believe religion is the root of all evil. lol But spirituality is awesome!

        Like

    laughtermedicineforthesoul responded:
    August 22, 2015 at 4:00 pm

    I know there are references of a place referred to where the “Weeping and gnashing of teeth will take place.” But I happen to believe in karma as well, and if you ask me “Hell can start right here on earth.”

    Honestly, I try not to debate about religion. But one thing I’m certain is I’m a Cristian. I’m a 100% believer in the Lord Jesus Christ, and the power is His precious blood. Based on my experiences I know demons do tremble just at the name of Jesus,and his precious blood as well. I owe the lives of my three daughters to my Lord. To believe otherwise, regardless of the fiery trials I’ve encountered would simply denigrate me as the imperfect being which I’m. The Almighty has done too much for me. Yes, my life has not been roses, perhaps this too is my reason to boast.. I finally feel compelled to write my testimony, perhaps you will understand why I feel so strongly about my faith.

    If you are happy with your belief, who am I to question it? However, I do feel a great remorse against those who have driven you away from the Christian faith. Remember “Not everyone who are saying “Lord” are actually in His will, or setting the example…” The Lord said “You will know them by their fruits. For a good tree will bear good fruit indeed, so as the bad tree will bear corrupt fruits.” A true Christian is compared to a shining light, a lamp carefully placed on top of a hill, to shine and cast off the darkness away. We are not perfect. For we still have our daily struggles, but what’s important is the fact we are awared of this fact, and we are gradually striving to reach the realm of perfection.

    There wolves in sheep clothing in every religion. This is why a personal relationship with the divine is so important.

    Check out the scriptures below. I honestly don’t know how to answer your questions but through the scriptures. And yes, I bilieve some of the book from the Bible were pobably removed, but I”m also aware of a Greater God, who’s wise and powerful enough to make sure the message of His grace, and salvation are still engraved in there, for all those who are truly seeking for answers. He is after all the great Creator of heaven and earth..

    “”The Son of Man will send forth His angels, and they will gather out of His kingdom all stumbling blocks, and those who commit lawlessness, 42and will throw them into the furnace of fire; in that place there will be weeping and gnashing of teeth. 43″Then THE RIGHTEOUS WILL SHINE FORTH AS THE SUN in the kingdom of their Father. He who has ears, let him hear. Also in Luke 13:28

    “His winnowing fork is in his hand, and he will clear his threshing floor, gathering his wheat into the barn and burning up the chaff with unquenchable fire.” Matthew 3:12

    “But the subjects of the kingdom will be thrown outside, into the darkness, where there will be weeping and gnashing of teeth.” Mattew 8:12

    Like

Leave a Reply

