Where Is My Breakfast?

Posted on

dimentia 2

When my sister who’s a nurse mentioned my father is reflecting dementia symptoms, I completely refused to believe her. Of course I was in denial! I didn’t want to remember my father as the helpless elder he had become; I would rather see him as the sound minded engineer he once was.

During the past two weeks, I’ve been in charge of his meal, while my sister takes charge of the grocery. I’m enjoying spending quality time with my father. We eat and chat, but whenever he dosed off to sleep, I focus on my writing.

One morning after I asked him for his choice of meal? He specifically requested for some eggs, which I prepared to his liking. In fact, he even gave me a compliment, which is rare. My father can be a harsh food critic.

“How is the egg Papy?”

“Very good! Just the way I like it!”

After he ate two eggs, once slice of bread, one banana, half a cup of V-eight, quart glass of milk; he munched on a bag of hot chips, which my daughter had brought him a couple days ago. Then, he grabbed his phone, which led me to believe he was searching for a number. About two hours later, he was still searching.

“Papy, are you looking for a phone number?”

“No, I’m waiting on you for, for, the, the food!”

“What food Papy?”

“What do you mean by “what food? You haven’t served me my breakfast!”

“Papy, you just ate your breakfast!”

“Me? I just woke up, came to sit on the table to wait on you!”

“Ok Papy, what would you like to eat this morning?”

“He thought for a second, “What do you have here? Whatever you have!”

“Would you like some eggs?”

“Ok, give me that!”

So after I prepared two eggs, toasted some bread, add some fruits… I placed the plate in front of him;

“Ok Papy, breakf dimentiaast is ready!”

He stares at me for a few seconds, then laughed hysterically:

“Are you suffering from dementia? You just fed me! I guess I should be taking care of you, instead of you caring for me!”

Although my heart was aching, the incident was too funny. So I laughed my heart to tears.

On that same day, when my daughter came to see him, after she kissed him she asked:

“How you doing Grandpa?”

He answered: “Your mother is losing her mind, fed me breakfast twice, I haven’t had a bite to eat, since this morning!”

6 thoughts on “Where Is My Breakfast?

    honestme363 said:
    August 9, 2015 at 8:15 pm

    Sweet and sad. Wishing you strength for the journey ahead. Remember to cherish the moments of lucidity and not to take it personally when he isn’t.

    Liked by 1 person

    C. J. Hartwell said:
    August 10, 2015 at 1:15 am

    Oh my, this reminds me of my mom – she had Alzheimer’s. Eventually I learned to just flow with it, but I was a slow learner. Wishing you well!

    Liked by 2 people

    lifeconfusions said:
    August 12, 2015 at 12:38 pm

    This was both happy and sad. And very touching. You are doing the best you can as an amazing daughter. May God bless you with more strength and your father with health.
    Love and hugs,
    Zee ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

