The Test of Endurance

Posted on

endurance

The first day Sister Marie and I met for the play rehearsal, she sat down and repeated the same scripture over and over.

“Though I speak with the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I have become a sounding brass or a clanging cymbal.”  Though I speak……”

She continued with this charade during the whole hour.  In fact, that’s when I  realized could never be a nun. I foresaw myself snoring during the early morning, and evening prayers. I would be such a pain in the convent, just like Floriane Maria in the movie, “The Sound of Music,” Mother Superior wouldn’t know what to do with me.

Finall, I thought “I have to find a way to maintain my sanity,” so I started drawing.  First, I drew a picture of myself snoring, and of Sister Maria holding a ruler with a furious face. Then I drew a new portrait of her being carried to heaven by the angels. I also kept count of her repetitions. But while I drew little circles, I whispered “Sister Marie is going craaa-zy!!!! I’m sure she heard me, but she still did not show any sign of annoyance.

endurance woman

Furthermore, to test her endurance, I dropped myself on the floor, rolled over a couple times. Then, I placed my school bag under my chin, while I laid flat on my stomach, with my arms wide open. Still not a zilch from her.

So I got up, while standing next to her,  started hopping on one leg; knew she hated that. Still not a sign from her.

So I finally concluded:  “Sister Marie went to heaven and left her body behind.” In fact, I started singing the same sentence, over and over, and  I danced all the latest dance I knew, even did the twist.  Not a zilch from Sister Marie.

When my brother came to pick me up, I grabbed my school bag, and as I started running toward the door. I heard: “See you Friday Angel!”

“I suddenly stopped running, just to turn and look at her. She was smiling.

“Oh My God! You are back from heaven Sister Marie?”

She shook her head, laughed, then said “Yes Angel, I came back to take you with me.”

“Oh no, sister Marie. Today I realized I could never be a nun like you. I would be bored to death. “

“Why would you be bored?”

“Because you were repeating the same prayer over and over for a whole hour. That’s too boring!”

“ I was not really praying, I was merely meditating on the word.”

“Well, “I can’t merely meditate on the word” for so long either Sister Marie. I would start snoring, all the angels and demons would start running inside the church.”

“ You have a great gift if you can cause even the demons to run back to church.”

“Sister Marie, my grandma used to tell me, “I snore so loud, that I will cause both angels and demons to wake up from their sleep and run to church.”

“But why would she think they would rush to church?”

“Because my snore sound just like thunder, they would think it’s God’s voice rebuking them!”

Leave a Reply

