Highly Recommended Part III – The Color Of Love

Posted on

heart

Father Pierre closed the book to say: “With that being said, I have an assignment for you both to complete together.”

“TOGETHER?” We yelled. “BUT THAT’S IMPOSSIBLE!!!”

“Sister Marie! He said in a firm tone. “Open the book on 1 Corinthians, verse 13, and start reading!”

“Yes Father, she humbly answered.”

“Though I speak with the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I have become a sounding brass or a clanging cymbal.”

After she read the first sentence, she slowly closed the book, hung her head down. I could see her body posture sinking downward, while she remained silent. Meanwhile I was swinging my legs, while I whispered Father Pierre’s sentence, since I thought it was a nice one to engrave into my memory: “With that being said! With that being said!” But Father Pierre glanced at me for a second, and I knew exactly what that look meant, so I stopped. Instead, I grabbed the little statue of Saint Claire which was on his desk, and kissed it. Then I whispered, “I love you Saint Claire, but I also love Mother Marie too. Immediately, I turned to glance at the picture of Saint Michael’s painting on the wall, to my right. I tried to imitate his facial expression, while I whispered: “Annnn-d, I love Saint Michael, and Saint Rose, and Saint Altagrace, and; but Father Pierre gave me a stern look, this time I shut up completely. Just then, I could not help but question in my mind: “I wonder what it would be like to get a butt whooping from a Priest?” I had never heard anyone one of them whopping a child before, it was always the nun who were mean.”  But as I was thinking, I heard a noise. When I turned to look at Sister Marie, I noticed she was crying.

“What’s wrong Sister Mor, I mean Sister Marie?”

Instead of answering me, tears gushed down her cheeks, like a river rejoicing from the rainfall. So I got up to grab a tissue from the box which was on Father’s desk, to wipe her face.

“Please don’t cry Sister Marie. I promise, I will never call you “Sister Morte again.” (Which means Site Dead)

But she did not respond, instead she kept on crying.

“I will wear the white sock you want me to, I promise!”

But, she kept on crying.

“I promise Sister Marie, I promise. But you have to know, the only reason I don’t wear the uniform sock is because my stepmom didn’t buy me a white sock. She only brought me “one pair of navy sock, one blue skirt, and one white shirt to wear for the school year. I told her you didn’t want me to wear the blue sock, but noooo – she refused to listen to me! But, If you stop crying, I won’t’ wear any sock at all. Because, I sure don’t want to see you crying again!” I kept on wiping her eyes, but somehow what I thought were comfort words were causing her to scream instead. By then, Sister Marie was not just crying, but she was howling. I think the whole school could have heard her. She even got up to grab more tissue in order to wipe her face.  So I slowly got up from my chair, and walked toward Father Pierre, and whispered in his ears:

“Father, I think you need to sprinkle some holy water on Sister Marie, so Count Dracula may leave her alone!”

Father answered “With that being said” let’s try to sit down quietly for a few second, so the Lord may continue His course in this session.”

“The Lord? Where is He Father?”

“You can’t see Him Yet, but I’m sure Sister Marie can sense His presence as well.”

“Wow!” As I kept on turning around, to see if I could spot where the Lord was standing. But I did not see him. So I concluded, it was because I was too young, and went back to sit down. When I turned to look at Sister Marie, I noticed she had stopped crying. In fact, her whole demeanor had changed. Although I couldn’t pinpoint exactly what had just transpired, I had enough sense to resume: “Whatever it was is beyond my league of understanding.” But, Father bent over, and whispered: “It’s not tangible my child.” I guess he was able to see through my inquisitive mind, also understood the fact that, I was too young to pinpoint the presence of conviction, and the zest of remorse.

So after he recited a prayer, he said:  “I want you ladies to prepare a theatrical play on the theme of “Love, with this scripture. The other children may participate, however I want the two of you to play the role for the major characters. Meaning, each one of you will share your input about this scripture before the whole school. Then he turned toward me, “Angel, I will notify your parents. For you will need to meet with Sister Marie at least twice a week after school, for the rehearsal.”

Sister Marie remained quiet, while I thought it was the opportunity of a lifetime. But when I realized the play was about love:

“Father! You want us to write a play about love?”

“Indeed my child!”

“But, how could we do so, when I’m but a child, who’s never been in love; and sister Marie is going to die, just like an old rag, who’ll never get married either?”

Father took a deep breath, shook his head, and then smiled.

“I know you are a little girl, and Sister Marie has never, and will never be married. But, I guarantee you, “If you search deep within your heart, you will discover the type of love I’m referring to.  And, I know you have more than enough of that precious love, to share with the whole school.”red roses

I smiled, even blushed for a couple seconds. After I thought for a few minutes, I replied:

“Oh – I seeeeeeeeee! “But, Father, what color is that love? Is it also red?”

To be continued.

One thought on “Highly Recommended Part III – The Color Of Love

    JoHanna Massey said:
    January 5, 2016 at 4:09 pm

    Well done. Such a funny story. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

